Iran introduces two writers for IBBY-iRead Award

Iran introduces two writers for the IBBY-iRead Award

Iran’s Children’s Book Council, after a rigorous evaluation process, introduced Alireza Seyyed-Abadi and Nader Mousavi as nominees for the IBBY-iRead Outstanding Reading Promoter Award.
This award, established by the Shenzhen iRead Foundation and the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY), aims to recognize individuals who have shown a strong commitment to promoting reading and inspire others globally to do the same.
Nominees for this award are required to have actively engaged in innovative and creative efforts to promote reading among children and young adults for a minimum of three years. The Children’s Book Council, as the Iranian branch of IBBY, selects and nominates candidates for this prestigious accolade.
The jury will consider a range of criteria when evaluating the nominees, including the implementation of exceptional reading promotion projects, effective strategies for advocating reading policies, and a commitment to advancing children’s right to read. Factors such as sustainability, influence, innovation, and inspiration will also be taken into account during the judging process.
Seyyed-Abadi was previously nominated by the Children’s Book Council for the same award in 2019 and received the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA) in both 2023 and 2024.
Also, Mousavi has been nominated for the same award for the second time. He was previously nominated for the IBBY-iRead Award in 2022 and the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA) in 2023.
The jury for the Children’s Book Council’s promotion group awards includes Ja’far Tozandehjani, Atefeh Selyani, Giti Safarzadeh, Neda Movaheddipour, and Fatemeh Nekoui.

Source: Iran Daily

No comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *